Opening Day

I have come to Word Press because the blog on my own site has been badly spammed.

About bumbletonian

Musician, Flautist, Composer, Writer, Gardener.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Opening Day

  1. Lorelei Oye says:

    I always thought Alex died in an auto accident.

  2. d2m2enos says:

    It was during a drive from Roscommon, MI to my home in Detroit in late July, 1963 that I was handed the newspaper clipping of his death notice. I believe it was the Detroit News. He was described as “a popular Windsor disc jockey” (poor description). It reported that “he died when a car in which he was riding hit a tree”. His Windsor home address was given as well – not common these days. I remember too that during that time he was a very popular speaker and narrator and presented dramatic readings at the University of Windsor and in Cleary Auditorium, which were duly announced on CBE.

    Recently I acquired a press photograph of him at the console in the CBE studio. It had been taken in 1958, and on the back was a brief segment of the attached article which described his education and his outlooks on a couple of matters. TOO brief, but very interesting. I can only imagine what the future must have held for him. I think he must have been the inspiration of my early forays in extemporaneous speaking.

    Thank you for maintaining this thread, and CHEERS !

Leave a Reply

